top of page

The Five Love Languages of Volunteering Series

Updated: Feb 10, 2022

By Sierra Pope, VISTA Volunteer Coordinator

Are you familiar with the concept of the Five Love Languages? Do you feel like you’re making a bigger impact when you do certain activities? How do you feel when you perform an act of service or give a gift? What about spending quality time with someone or saying some words of affirmation? How do you feel about physical touch?

These are the Love Languages (acts of service, gifts, quality time, words of affirmation, and physical touch) as defined by Dr. Gary Chapman. They help us to communicate (in both verbal and non-verbal ways) between others and ourselves.

Knowing how we like to show love can help us to better serve those in our communities. Over the next several months, we will be exploring the love languages individually. You’ll learn how to get involved at Willis Dady Homeless Services and the unique place you might find because of your love language.

Want to check out all the 5 Love Languages series? Click the links below!

Looking for more information about the 5 Love Languages? Check out Dr. Gary Chapman’s website:

Sierra is the VISTA Volunteer Coordinator at Willis Dady Homeless Services. If you are interested in volunteering reach to her at, give her a call at 319-362-7555, and fill out a volunteer application at

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page